2019 Diversity Reception Honoring Mr. Wade Henderson

Washington, DC

Fairmont Hotel
Colonnade Room
2401 M Street, NW
Washington, DC 20037

We invite you to join us at a cocktail/buffet reception to celebrate Diversity Awareness Month and to honor Wade Henderson for his lifetime commitment to diversity and inclusion. We are proud to present him with our Seventh Annual “Make a Difference” Award at our Annual Diversity Reception.

Mr. Henderson is the former President of The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights (“The Leadership Conference”), where he served for 20 years, from 1996 to 2016, as the head of The Leadership Conference and as counsel to The Leadership Conference Education Fund.

Mr. Henderson joined The Leadership Conference—then known as “The Leadership Conference on Civil Rights”—in 1996. Under his leadership, the coalition has grown from 170 to more than 230 member organizations (including its first Muslim and Sikh civil rights groups)—and from a staff of seven to 50—adding development, field, and communications departments, as well as the Americans for Financial Reform project.

Since 1998, Mr. Henderson has also acted as the Joseph L. Rauh, Jr., Professor of Public Interest Law at the University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law. Prior to his role with The Leadership Conference, from 1991 to 1996, Mr. Henderson was the Washington Bureau Director of the NAACP, where he directed the organization's government affairs and national legislative program. From 1982 to 1991, Mr. Henderson was the Associate Director of the Washington national office of the ACLU.

Mr. Henderson holds a Bachelor of Arts from Howard University and a Juris Doctorate from the Rutgers University School of Law. He is a member of the Bar of the U.S. Supreme Court and the District of Columbia. He presently serves on the Board of the Center for Responsible Lending, which focuses on student loan debt. He is also a consultant who remains actively involved in civil/human rights.

Click here to learn more about Mr. Henderson.

About the Epstein Becker Green “Make a Difference” Award

Epstein Becker Green created the “Make a Difference” Award in 2013 as a way to acknowledge those individuals who, through their outstanding commitment, dedication, and abilities, have made a difference in the advancement of diversity and inclusion. Past honorees include:

  • 2018 – Christine C. Quinn, President and Chief Executive Officer of Win (formerly Women in Need)
  • 2017 – Eric T. Washington, Retired Chief Judge of the District of Columbia Court of Appeals
  • 2016 – Laurie Robinson Haden, Vice President and Assistant Counsel, CBS Corporation, and Founder and CEO, Corporate Counsel Women of Color
  • 2015 – William A. Keyes, IV, Founder and President, The Institute for Responsible Citizenship
  • 2014 – Kenneth G. Standard, Esq., General Counsel Emeritus and Of Counsel, Epstein Becker Green
  • 2013 – Shirley Ann Higuchi, Esq., Assistant Executive Director, American Psychological Association Legal and Regulatory Affairs; Chair, the Heart Mountain Wyoming Foundation; and Past President, District of Columbia Bar

Registration for this event has now ended. For more information, contact Thalia Bowen at [email protected].